The Seven Demensions of Wellness

Updated: Apr 12, 2018

Wellness is not just eating right and exercising. It's much bigger than that.

Physical, Emotional, Intellectual, Social, Spiritual, Environmental, and Occupational. Experts believe to truly experience "wellness" you must incorporate these seven interconnected dimensions into your daily life. Each one may seem unrelated but they overlap and contribute to our own sense of wellness or quality of life. At different times throughout our lives there will be more prominent than the others, however, they are equally important and neglect any one of them and it will adversely affect your health. This concept goes way beyond just physical management of disease and actually taps into prevention. Each day we will bring you tips and strategies for you to practice and promote a better sense of health and wellness.

This idea was originally developed by Dr. Bill Hettler, co-founder of the National Wellness Institute (NWI), as the Six Dimensions of Wellness and has since been updated to include environmental. Dr. Hettler believes that by applying each one "a person becomes aware of the interconnectedness of each dimension and how they contribute to healthy living. For instance, how a person contributes to their environment and community, and how to build better living spaces and social networks. The enrichment of life through work, and its interconnectedness to living and playing. Along with the development of belief systems, values, and creating a world-view. The benefits of regular physical activity, healthy eating habits, strength, and vitality as well as personal responsibility, self-care and when to seek medical attention. He also stresses the importance of self-esteem, self-control, and determination as a sense of direction and finally, creative and stimulating mental activities, and sharing your gifts with others.

Wellness is not something you just do, it is essentially how you live. True health is having a balance of mind, body, and spirit.


The seven dimensions of wellness to incorporate every day:

-Spiritual -Occupational -Intellectual -Environmental -Emotional -Social -Physical


*The health, wellness and beauty information on Live Healthy-Be Beautiful is intended only as informational material and not to be taken as individual medical advice. Always contact your doctor before starting any new health or exercise plan.

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon